I currently have the following gear in my shack:

Icom ID-5100 for VHF/UHF

Icom IC-7300 for HF

ADG AT-100 Pro II Tuner for the HF rig

Bioenno 40 battery

Rig runner

(coming soon: PWR Gate)

In my car, I have another Icom ID-5100.

I have been thinking about how to have a cost-effective go-rig for emergency comms (MCACS, ARES, event support, etc).  Right now, it would be a hassle to pull gear out of my shack to take with me.  

I have been thinking about getting an Icom IC-7100 for use as an on-the-go rig.  Given its VHF, UHF and HF capability, and the fact that it is a mobile rig, I could set it up in an Otter box or the like and have it ready to go.  New it retails for around $1000.  Second hand it tends to sell for $700-800.  

Is this a bad idea?  Would that radio work for a field radio?  Or would I be better off setting up my shack radios in a box so I can quickly disconnect and go?  

I am pretty new at all this, so I'd appreciate the benefit of your experience.

Skip W3PDP

• Administrator

Let's see if I can get @W4DOI or @KW4TO to chime in? They both have 7100's and have used them in the field. My only beef with them in the field is that the 7100 has an awkward shape. Another option is the upcoming ICOM 705 but it's a QRP and QRPp rig with a max of 10W 😞 And then there's my HF rig, the Yaesu 891, I love its TX/RX capabilities. The menus take a bit of getting used to and, unfortunately, it's HF only. But I love it. The real question is the phrase: 'disconnect and go'. Does that mean on foot, bicycle, motorcycle or car. If it's car, then the sky's the limit. If it's anything less, then weight and size, obviously, become a consideration...

• Administrator

I'm a big fanboy of the IC-7100 as it's one of the only radios that offers VHF, UHF, HF all band all mode plus DSTAR.

I have 2 of them - one for the car, and one for home shack.

However, one weakness to keep in mind for portable operations is that the IC-7100 in my experience is very sensitive to