Anyone else studying for the Extra Class exam?

KM4FAI

I studied hard last fall but wasn’t passing my practice exams by the week of the exam so didn’t go.  Then the holidays came around.  Now, I’m wanting to get back into studying and hoping I didn’t forget what I had learn so I can take the exam in March.

I have no background in electronics so this is a challenge for me, for sure.  I’m using an extra class app on my phone, the arrl extra class book, and the study book by Gordon West.

Anyone else out there hoping to upgrade this year?  And any words of advice?

• Administrator

Hi Angela,

I'm already an extra, so perhaps not the best one to give advice. This said, I'll try. I think that there are more than one ways to prepare. Much depends on each person's 'style' of study. Some are memorizers, others like to take practice tests over and over. And others still, like the idea of taking the test more than once. They are OK with failing one or two times and getting the feel for the content before ultimately passing it. Also, I am not an instructor, so please take any of my advice with a grain of salt. I have elmered a few amateur radio operators in my day. 

I'm sure that others will disagree with my suggestion, but here goes.

1. Read the entire guide, in your case the Gordon West study book, cover to cover, once.
  2. Read the pool of questions, from first to last, once.
  3. Take one to three practice tests in a row.
  4. Do all this in under one month, if you take longer you will forget what you studied.

If you do steps 1 to 4 above, you will have covered all your bases. You will have read through the three main types of knowledge delivery.

Next:

1. Go through those practice tests and pick out the areas where you were weakest and reread the study book chapters; re-read them once.
  2. Go take the test.

If you fail, you will, again, know why you failed allowing you to go back and fill those gaps.