New to Ham and POTA - How Many Counterpoise Radials?

AA2SD

I am new to Ham Radio and have activated 15 Parks on the Air locations in NJ. My question is what is the correct number of counterpoise radials to use with a temporary .4 wave or 1/2 wave vertical antenna? I typically only use 4 radials to keep the set up time down. You can see an example of my last POTA activation here.

Thanks for the Help

Scott AA2SD

Edited by K3MRI
shortened the title and embedded video

• Administrator

Hi Scott and welcome to Ham Community.

Asking advice on radials is almost like asking Santa for a gift... you never know what you get. Kidding aside, the discussion on radials is over a Century in the making and the opinions differ wildly, which one would think is bizarre considering it's physics and there should only be a right or wrong.

Also, if I may correct you, there is technically a difference between a counterpoise and a ground radial. One is intended to create a 'ground' the other is intended to lengthen the electrical length of the antenna. For now, let's talk about radials.

Also, we're talking POTA which also means portability and ease-of-setup.

First I'll tell you my theory/approach. Too few radials are useless, too many interfere with eachothers' electrical fields reducing each other's usefulness/effect. My personal choice, if I do use a radial in the field, is to create a circle that is then connected to the antenna ground with just four radial wires. I have my own copper 'ring' that I set to one-quarter wavelength of the band I'm on. Oh, right, did I mention that the radial is in proportion to the band, not the antenna length. You're grounding a wave of a given length, not a stick, per se. That also means that you have to, in theory, have different rings. Same applies with traditional radials, btw. If you're setting up an AM commercial radio antenna tower it's easy... always the same frequency. If you're a ham, you're all over the place.