Antenna building

KF0BMX

Question

I am still kind of new to this hobby, so I am going to have a lot of questions. I got my license in September of 2020 and built a small 2m/ 70cm antenna that works fairly well, I want to build a 6m antenna and would like to know if I can combine  Vertical and Horizontal antennas together and have it work properly ??

Thank you in advance for any advise that can help.

Carl KF0BMX

5 answers to this question

• Administrator

Nope, that won't work. I'll give you some short answers and then point you to some concepts and reading.

First the drawing implies a ground plane but only on side at a time. You're going to have directionality issues. Also, your drawing shows no lengths so no idea which band you're tuned for. Finally, you're creating a relationship between active elements and passive ones that will create a rather bizarre signal.