First post by KG5BMR

KG5BMR

Hey Ham Community, this is an automated post on behalf of our new member: KG5BMR,

On behalf of Ham Community, let's give KG5BMR a warm welcome.

KG5BMR, we encourage you to browse around and get to know the Community's many sections. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to ask, as with all things HAM, we all love to give advice 😎

For everyone's information, KG5BMR joined on the 01/07/2022; this is their profile: View Member.

Hello, I am a newbie with a technician's license (2014) then life happened with a series of accidents, etc.  Now, I can start again.  Hopefully, I will start studying for a general license next month.    

Is there a book that can help me relearn some of what I have forgotten?

Do you have Elmers here to help guide me on what steps to take next?

Is there someone who can help me figure out this Yaesu ft-70-D?  I did know how last year, but a concussion and covid took it from me.

Can you recommend any other forums that could help me get started?

Thanks so much!

Hi, Kim, and welcome to Ham Community.  I'm glad to hear that you're planning on upgrading your ticket.  If you're wanting to review tech class material, you might want to go  to one of the practice test websites (like hamexam.org) and take a few practice tests.

Yes, there are Elmers here and they really know their stuff.  I'm sure they would be glad to give you an assist.

As for your FT 70-D, I'd start with the manual.  There is also a "cheat sheet" by N8UKF for the rig available, but my computer won't let me download it so I can't look it over.

If you haven't already, check out arrl.org which is a great resource for all things ham.

By the way, you probably know that "73" means best regards, and "88" means love and kisses.  But what is less well known is that when a YL (young lady - female ham) signs off with another YL, they use "33" which basically means, "You go, girl!"