Acronyms

1) "Which mode is normally used when sending RTTY signals via AFSK with an SSB transmitter?"
2) "Which mode is normally used when sending Radio Teletype signals via Audio Frequency Key Shifting with a Single Sideband transmitter?"

Which one educates more?  Question 1  or 2?

What's AFSK, RTTY, SSB?  Yeah, I stopped, inturrupted my train of thought, and went and googled it.

Why is it that all the study guides assume us green grasshoppers know what all the Ham acronyms and slang is?  Look, I know all you old goats who got your Extra ticket in the same testing session with Marconni know what they mean.  BUT WE DON'T.  That's why we're studying!
I'm studying for the general, and apparently the standard is memorize the correct answer out of the four and understanding be damned.  Apparently the ham standard is just memorizing the answer and not learning anything.

End of griping!    LOL  Ya know what they say, Sir.  As long as the troops are complaining, they're motivated.  LOL

• Administrators
ELMER

I have a story to tell 😁 When I was in college, I had a friend who worked at Bell Canada as an engineer. He must've had a Masters in Engineering and a PhD in Acronyms. It got to the point where we would break up laughing whenever he spoke. He could not help himself. But I digress. Indeed, the acronym fight is an old one. I am of the school that acronyms are fine so long as you have spelled them out entirely at the beginning of any document, but you're right, amateur radio operators do not do that, even for something as simple as ARRL. If I were designing any of these documents, I would always write out the full name, put the acronym in parentheses, and then, going forward, use the acronym. Also, that's what glossaries are for. If it were up to me, I would include a glossary, yes, even with study guides, exams, rules, etc, especially in a field that uses them as extensively as we do.

:QRT:

• Agree | Support 1
  • Like | Congratulations 1
  • Funny 1